Press Release

Premier's Office
Release Date:
Wednesday, 27 January 2021 - 12:49pm

The Cabinet of the Virgin Islands has approved the appointment and re-appointment of the Chairman and members of the Financial Services Appeal Board in accordance with Section 3 of the Financial Services Appeal Board Act, 2016.

Ms. Arabella Luisa di Iorio has been appointed the new Chairman of the Board. Ms. di Iorio is currently a partner at Agon (BVI) Ltd. and brings over 20 years of offshore experience to the Financial Services Appeal Board.

Ms. Rasheda Karryl Hodge has been appointed by the Premier and Minister of Finance Honourable Andrew A. Fahie to serve as Secretary to the Board. The other newly appointed board members are Mrs. Fiona Forbes-Vanterpool, Ms. Brittney Smith and Ms. Alfida Cruz.

Ms. Vanessa King-Johnson has been re-appointed to the Board serving as Deputy Chair. Other reappointments include Mr. Julian Gordon and Mrs. Diana Maduro-Romney.

The Financial Services Appeal Board was established to make provisions for the filing and processing of appeals relating to the Financial Services Commission Act, financial services legislation, and other related matters.

The board reviews all appeal notices filed by individuals and businesses operating within the BVI. Each appeal is discussed at a hearing, in which the Appeal Board can dismiss or allow the appeal, or turn the case over to the Board, the Financial Services Commission or the Executive Licensing Committee for further consideration. All decisions made by the Appeal Board are final.

Persons in need of more information can contact the Financial Services Appeal Board via telephone at 468-2144 or 468-3315 or via email at and copied to


Nia Douglas-Wheatley

Communications Officer II
Deputy Governor's Office
Government of the Virgin Islands
Tel: 284.468.2350