Press Release

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports
Education, UNESCO
Release Date:
Thursday, 11 June 2020 - 7:01pm

The BVI National Commission for UNESCO has announced the winners of the 2020 World Poetry Day Competition in a virtual ceremony on Facebook.

The winners for the competition are:


1st place - Kedrick Malone

2nd  place - Linette Rabsatt

3rd place - April Glasgow


1st Place - Aliana Smith


1st Place - Trinity Lettsome

2nd Place - Aliyah Smith


1st Place Nicklous Kanhai

Secretary General for the BVI National Commission for UNESCO, Dr. Allison Flax-Archer said the poems submitted were all amazing and that the judges included past and present educators within the specialty, and the Callaloo poets.

Dr. Flax-Archer also shared that some persons were concerned about the theme “Celebrating the forefathers of our nation who set the path for 70 years of Legislation”, being too difficult for the younger category.

“My response was that it’s time for the historical research to begin and for those that know the history, it serves as a reminder…and for those that don’t know our history, it’s time to learn. The residents of this Territory need to know or be reminded on whose shoulders we stand,” she explained.

The winners received monetary awards and shared their winning poems with viewers.

Guest presenter and Writer, Dr. Richard Georges also shared a piece from his collection Epiphaneia which won the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.

Minister for Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture, Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley extended congratulations to all the winners and is encouraging them to keep writing and developing their art.

To view the Virtual Ceremony visit Government’s Facebook page @BVIGovernment.

UNESCO first adopted the competition on March 21 as World Poetry Day during its 30th General Conference in Paris in 1999. The BVI National Commission observes the day annually by highlighting the importance of poetry.