Press Release

House of Assembly
Release Date:
Wednesday, 21 October 2020 - 5:18pm

Speaker of the House of Assembly Honourable Julian Willock has said that under the revised structure of the Virgin Islands Youth Parliament (VIYP), its members will have an opportunity to understand in theory and practice the important principles of governance.

Honourable Willock while hosting the relaunch of the twenty-three member parliament on Tuesday, October 20 said its members will also understand democracy, the rule of law, human rights and how the House of Assembly functions.

The Speaker said, “It will be different from just the youth policy, but the VIYP will mirror how the House of Assembly works with assigning of portfolios to the 15 members and implementing and administration as well.” 

Premier and Minister of Finance, and Member for the First District Honourable Andrew A. Fahie congratulated the members on their appointment and urged them to carry out their responsibilities to the best of their abilities.

The Premier said, “We can only truly own our destiny when our people are qualified and equipped for these positions and take the reins like what you are doing today. To participate in the process and to lead in the process, you have to know the process.”

The members of the Virgin Islands Youth Parliament, who will serve until the end of the Fourth House of Assembly are as follows:

Mr. Kevin S. Fahie - Premier and Minister of Finance and Member for the Eighth District;

Ms Angelique B. Lettsome - Speaker;

Ms. Bria A. Smith - Deputy Premier and Minister for Health and Social Development;

Mr. Stephon D. Mactavious - Minister for Transportation, Works and Utilities;

Ms. Anika M. Christopher - Minister for Natural Resources, Labour and Immigration;

Mr. Dylan J. Penn - Min. for Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture;

Ms. Sarai O. Smith – Attorney General;

Ms. Mia M. Lennard - Junior Minister for Trade and Economic Development;

Mr. Yohance T. Smith  - Junior Minister for Tourism;

Ms. Donyelle D. Hodge - Member for the First District;

Ms. Kerrell L. Wilson - Deputy Speaker and Member for the Sixth District;

Mr. Kevon S. Lettsome - Leader of the Opposition;

Mr. Rushawn A. Johnson - Member for the Third District;

Mr. Shammah M. D. Tittle - Member for the Fourth District;

Ms. Akeya R. C. Herbert - Member for the Second District;

Ms. Alisma E. Wheatley - Clerk;

Ms. Joi-Ann N. Thomas - Deputy Clerk;

Mr. Chezley L. Stoddard - Sargeant-of-Arms;

Mr. Delani Fraser – Public Relations Officer;

Ms. Yadali Santos-Thomas – Research Person;

Mr. Kyle J. Ricketts – Research Person;

Ms. Rhohani S. Hypolite - Research Person; and

Mr. Brent Andrew - Research Person

The Youth Parliament is comprised of a cohort of up to 40 young people from all districts ranging from the ages of 18 to 35. Each of the 13 elected Members, along with the Speaker and the Director of Youth Affairs and Sports were allowed to make nominations to the parliament. The nominees were selected from youth organisations, churches and nonprofit organisations throughout the Virgin Islands.

The Clerk of the House, Ms. Phyllis Evans administered the Oath of Affirmation to each youth parliamentarian paving the way for the designees to function officially and to begin conducting sessions where they can debate topics recommended by the management committee of the Youth Parliament.

A resolution was passed during the Fifth Sitting of the Second Session of the Fourth House of Assembly for the appointment of a Special Select Committee to manage the Youth Parliament. The committee members were: Honourable Julian Willock (Chairman); Honourable Neville A. Smith; Honourable Kye M. Rymer; Honourable Sharie B. de Castro; Honouable Julian Fraser; Honourable Melvin M. Turnbull; Honourable Marlon A. Penn; and Honourable Shereen D. Flax-Charles. The make-up of the Youth Parliament is in line with the Commonwealth Parliamentary Associations (CPA) guidance on Youth Parliaments across the region.


Linton Leonard

Public Relations Officer
Office of the House of Assembly
Telephone: 468-6900 ext. 6958