Press Release

Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports
Release Date:
Wednesday, 12 February 2020 - 5:15pm

Mr. Franklin Walters has been selected as the new Chairman of the Virgin Gorda Easter Festival Sub-Committee.

Minister for Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fishers and Agriculture Honourable Natalio Wheatley made the announcement during a committee meeting held on Virgin Gorda on February 4.

Honourable Wheatley was accompanied by VI Festival and Fairs Executive Committee which included Chairman Mr. Carnel Clyne and Deputy Chairman Mr. Khalid Frett and other members.

Mr. Franklin Walters expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to serve while Honourable Wheatley pledged the Government of the Virgin Islands’ and the VI Festival and Fairs Executive Committee’s full support in ensuring the success of the annual Virgin Gorda Easter Festival which is slated to take place on April 11 to 13.

Mr. Franklin Walters is a Virgin Gordian and local businessman who has served in previous years on the Virgin Gorda Easter Festival Sub-Committee. His experience, vast business sense and proven ability to lead along with the new committee members which include Shevonne Stevens, Adrianna Soverall, Doriel Riveria- Arrindel, Lisa Alexander, Dionne Smith, Shaila Stevens, Jahnai Caul, Vijay Andre Ramgobin, George Legair, Kishma Martin and Gloria George Fahie.

The Virgin Gorda community is invited to participate in the theme and slogan competition an effort to ignite community involvement in the upcoming festivities. Persons can send submissions to the @virgingordaeasterfestival Facebook page.

Persons are also welcomed to assist the newly formed committee and can show interest by attending their weekly meetings every Wednesday at the Vanterpool Administration Building at 8:00 p.m.